History

                                                                                  

 Rams Island Heritage Project  Supported By

     

The Rams Island Heritage Project is an undertaking of the River Bann and Lough Neagh Association Company.

Home
Up

 

Cardwells


 

In the eighteenth century Ram's Island was owned by a fisherman named David McAreavy who sold it for one hundred guineas in 1804 to the Lord O’Neill. When Lord O’Neill bought the Island it was just over six acres and due to the four lowerings of Lough Neagh (some two metres in total) the Island has grown to some 40 acres. The pre McMahon Scheme (mid nineteenth century) waterline protected by rocks set into the banks can be followed around the original Island. The pre Shepherd Scheme (1930’s) waterline is marked by Cardwells Harbour. In the early nineteenth century the Lord O'Neill built a charming thatched cottage in the English style, just below the Round Tower. A cottage for a caretaker was also built. The last caretakers to live on Rams island were called Cardwell.  Click here to download an article by the late Jim McGarry about the Cardwells and Rams Island (PDF 500kb)

Click pics below to enlarge

 


 

 

 

Home

This site was last updated 26-May-2015